Looking back

Sometimes when I think about where I am now and how sick I am I feel really frustrated. Today was one of those days. I am not where I thought I would be, or hoped to be at all.

Other times when I look back when I had some terrible episodes, I am thankful I have gotten this far. Sometimes when I think back I don’t know how I got through some of those days. When every simple movement had to be thought out, and was still excruciating. I am glad I got through it, and now I need to move forward.

image

8 thoughts on “Looking back

  1. I feel the same way! I often get frustrated because I’m not where I thought I would be now, but I’m learning to let go of expectations. I’m better than I was and that’s something to be happy about! I can only keep putting one foot in front of the other and hope I continue to improve. I’m at the point where I don’t even care how long it takes anymore, just as long as I keep going. I hope things improve for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I understand the feeling. My doctor once told me a bit of a (strange) story that goes along with this.

    (Humor me)

    He told me that my illness was like someone had come and dumped a large amount of dog poo on my front porch. It was awful, smelly.. absolutely disgusting.
    If someone comes and cleans up even half the dog poo, there’s still a pretty disgusting amount of crap left on your front porch. Sure, it’s better than before,but it’s still pretty smelly and a pain in the butt.

    As I have started to heal, I am no longer stuck with being carried around or crawling, but I still cannot go out into public buildings or to see many of the people I miss so much. It’s understandable to still feel frustration with being in a spot that is still not where we want to be… But I agree, we should strive to look back and be thankful for where we have come from.

    Hope tomorrow is a better day for you. Keep hope alive, you are not alone!

    Like

Leave a Reply

