Image

Understanding

You just need to put yourself in someone else’s shoes and then see how they feel and then you will understand why they are reacting or why they are behaving the way that they are behaving. We need to be fair.  Navid Negahban

A few years I would have never imagined how hard living with my illness would be. How hard everything seems to be. How everything changed. How frustrated I feel.

Living with a chronic illness there are battles we face everyday.

There are so many things we can’t control.

We live with the uncertainty.

The questions that may never be answered.

When your too sick to think about anything, but your illness.

The doctors that don’t listen, or believe you. The people around us that don’t understand how hard living like this is.

We Wish and hope for some understanding.

I wish and hope more people understood that just because I don’t always talk about my pain, that it doesn’t mean I’m not in pain. I also hope that when I do talk about my illness that more people don’t just assume that I am obsessed or depressed.

My illness is real, and so are my feelings about my illness.

Nothing about being chronically ill has been easy, but I have gotten through all of my worst days that I can keep going. The more I more forward the more I want to live not just survive.

“I don’t talk about my illness so that you will feel sorry for me. I talk about it so you will know what I’m going through, why I am the way I am. I don’t want your pity. I want your understanding. And sometimes, I talk about it because I had a bad day and just like you, talking about the bad thing makes me feel better. It just so happens I have a lot of bad days and my illness is usually at the core of it.” – unknown

““One of the hardest things about being chronically ill is that most people find what you’re going through incomprehensible—if they believe you are going through it. In your loneliness, your preoccupation with an enduring new reality, you want to be understood in a way that you can’t be. “Pain is always new to the sufferer, but loses its originality for those around him,” the nineteenth-century French writer Alphonse Daudet observes in his account of living with syphilis, “In the Land of Pain.” “Everyone will get used to it except me.”” -New Yorker, “What’s Wrong With Me?”

3 thoughts on “Understanding

Leave a Reply

